Skip to main content

 

Kareo Help Center

Edit, Delete, or Lock User Account

Updated: 02/18/2022
Views: 5023

System Admins can edit user account information and permissions as roles change within your practice. If the user should no longer access the practice, delete or lock the user account. Deleting the user will permanently remove the user's access to the practice. Locking the user makes them inaccessible to the system and can be unlocked at a later time.

Access User Settings

  1. Hover over the User icon and click on Practice Settings. The Practice Settings page opens.
  2. Click User Settings. The User Settings page opens.
Platform_User_Access.png

Edit User Account

  1. Click Edit to the right of the user's name. The Edit User page opens.
  2. Make any necessary changes to the user's account information:
    • E-mail: If necessary, enter an updated valid email address to allow the user to receive email notifications from Kareo (e.g., reset password, new messages, etc).
      Note: Once saved, the user will use the new email address to log into Kareo.
    • Password/Repeat Password: Enter a temporary password to allow the user to reset their password. The user will be prompted to create a new password upon login after the changes are saved.
    • Roles: Click to clear a selected role or click to select additional role(s). The user must have at least one role selected.
    • Emergency Access: To allow the user to give themselves or other staff members administrator permission in the event of an emergency, click to select "Allow emergency access for (Practice)". Or click to clear the option.
  3. Click Save User when finished. Advise the user to log out and log back in to view changes made to their account.
Platform_User_EditUser.png

Delete User Account

Permanently remove a user's access to the practice by deleting their account. The user account will be locked and moved to the locked user list. Additionally, the user's email address is updated to include "archived_" to indicate the user has been deleted. For example, [email protected] updates to [email protected].

When applicable, the archived email displays in reports and audit logs to indicate the user account was deleted.

  1. Click Edit to the right of the user's name. The Edit User page opens.
  2. Click Delete User. The Delete Account pop-up window opens.
  3. Click to select "I confirm this action".
  4. Click Submit. The user account is locked and displays under the Locked Users list.
Platform_User_DeleteUser_Confirm.png

Lock User Account

Locked users remain in the system and can be reactivated when necessary but should not be repurposed for a new user.

  1. Click Edit to the right of the user's name. The Edit User page opens.
  2. Click Lock User. The Lock Account pop-up window opens.
  3. Click to select "I confirm this action".
  4. Click Submit. The user account is locked and displays under the Locked Users list.
Platform_User_LockUser_Confirm.png
  • Was this article helpful?