Skip to main content

 

Kareo Help Center

Deactivate or Reactivate Patient Chart

Updated: 07/22/2022
Views: 130

The patient chart allows a practice to manage the patient's demographics, billing data, clinical data, and notes. When the practice no longer needs immediate access to the patient chart (e.g., deceased patient, no longer a patient, etc.) deactivate the patient chart to remove the patient from search results and mark the patient as inactive. If necessary, activate the patient chart to display the patient in search results and mark the patient as active. 

Note: Patients created in error with no clinical data can be deleted via the Desktop Application. If the patient has clinical data, it is recommended to deactivate the patient chart to preserve historical data.

Access Demographics

  1. Enter the first 2–3 letters of the patient's name or date of birth (mm/dd/yyyy) in the top navigation bar search box.
  2. Click to select the patient from the auto-populated results. The patient's Facesheet page opens.
  3. Click Demographics. The Demographics page opens.
Platform_Demographics_Access.png

Deactivate Patient Chart

Follow the steps below to deactivate a patient's chart. Once the patient is deactivated, they will no longer display as a result in the search bar. The patient's chart will display (Inactive) next to the patient's name to indicate the chart is deactivated.

  1. Click Edit. The Profile editor opens.
  2. Click to clear "Active Patient".
  3. Click Save when finished. The patient is deactivated.
Platform_Demographics_DeactivatePatient.png

Reactivate Patient Chart

Follow the steps below to activate a deactivated patient's chart.

  1. Click Edit. The Profile editor opens.
  2. Click to select "Active Patient".
  3. Click Save when finished. The patient is now active.
Platform_Demographics_ReactivatePatient.png