Skip to main content

 

Kareo Help Center

Add, Find, Edit, Deactivate / Delete a User Account

Creating a new user account allows a Kareo application administrator to set roles and permissions for each user. When you create a new user account, you will assign the user a role; the Kareo application is pre-configured with a default set of user roles, which can be customized, or you can create your own.

 

arrow_orange.jpgTo create a new user account

Edit section
  1. Click Settings > User Accounts.
  2. Click New User Account.
  3. Enter information, select user role and customize any permissions, if desired. See below. Note that the system defaults to the lowest user security setting.
  4. When finished, click Save New User.

User Account - Setup.jpg

User Account - Permissions.jpg

  1. Login email: Enter a valid email address for the user.
  2. Full name: Enter the user's name and be sure to leave only one space between first and last name.
  3. Phone: Enter the user’s phone number.
  4. Set Password: Enter a password and verify it by entering it again.
  5. Practice(s): Assign a practice to the user. Note that this option becomes available only for companies with multiple practices. Check the box next to the practice(s) you want the user to have access to. To remove a practice, uncheck it.
  6. Link this user to a provider: If the user is also a provider, select the provider from the drop-down menu.
  7. Permissions: Select a permission set.
  • Administrator: User has access to everything.
  • Custom: Customize permissions, see below.

User Account - Permission Settings.jpg

  1. Preset Permissions: Optional. Select ONE pre-defined permission set that you can further customize. See also section New User Role.
  2. Account Permissions: Applies to all practices on the account. Select permissions for each category.
  3. Practice Permissions: Applies to all practices the user has access to. Select permissions for each category.

 

arrow_orange.jpgTo find a user account

Edit section
  1. Click Settings > User Accounts.
  2. You can search either active or inactive users; click on the appropriate tab. Users are listed in alphabetical order.
  3. Once you find the user, click once on the record to open it.

 

arrow_orange.jpgTo edit a user account

Edit section
  1. Click Settings > User Accounts.
  2. Once you find the user, click once on the record to open it.
  3. Make changes and click Save

Note: Once a user's account settings have been updated, the user must log out of Kareo for the changes to take effect. The changes will be reflected when the user logs back into the system.

 

Deactivate / Delete a User Account

Edit section

Deactivating a user account blocks the user from accessing the Kareo application. Inactive users remain in the system so that you can reactivate them if needed. Some important things to note:

  • You cannot delete a user account within Kareo: When a user enters information in Kareo, a trail of transaction history is noted, therefore, it is important not to delete a user and deactivate them instead.
  • Deactivating a user associated with multiple accounts (using the same login email address) deactivates the user from ALL accounts.


arrow_orange.jpgTo deactivate a user account

  1. Click Settings > User Accounts.
  2. Once you find the user, click once on the record to open it.
  3. Check the "Deactivate this user account" box.
  4. If desired, check the "Clear this user's permissions and practice association" box.
  5. Click Save.
  • Was this article helpful?