Skip to main content

 

Kareo Help Center

Navigate Telehealth Room

Updated: 10/14/2021
Views: 172

Kareo Telehealth is the next generation HIPAA compliant video visit solution. Telehealth visits can be conducted on a computer or mobile device with up to 100 participants. This allows providers the flexibility to meet with multiple patients, clients, participants, or providers in one visit room with host permissions.

The first 12 participants to join the session will have the option to enable their camera and microphone. The remaining participants can only enable their microphone. If they attempt to enable their camera, they receive a message stating, "Sorry, you can't turn on your cam on at the moment".

Note:

Available for Kareo Telehealth subscribers.

Access Telehealth Room

Providers should join the Telehealth visit from the Dashboard to be granted host permission. This gives the providers the ability to approve or deny participants access to the visit room.

Providers can also join the Telehealth visit by directly accesing their Telehealth URL in a web browser. However, they must be logged into Kareo using the same web browser to be granted host permission.

  1. Click Join on the Scheduled telehealth group appointment. The video appointment opens in a new browser window.
  2. If necessary, activate the microphone and camera. Click Request permissions.
  3. Click Allow to use the microphone and camera. The telehealth visit room launches with host permissions. 
Telehealth_Provider_Join.png

Navigate Telehealth Room

Providers with host permissions can use the following features in the visit room:

  1. Timer: The timer starts when the first participant is let into the room to track the duration of the visit.
  2. Picture in Picture: Click the icon to pop the video out. This allows the provider to still see the participants and complete other tasks (e.g., start documenting the group note, open a file to share, etc.).
  3. Provider Controls: The provider hovers over their window to see the controls:
    Note: The provider's display name auto-populates with the first and last name from the provider's Kareo user account and cannot be edited in Kareo Telehealth.
    • Pop out: Click to pop the provider window out of the grid layout and onto the bottom right corner of the room.
    • Spotlight: Click to make the provider window the largest for everyone.
    • More options: Click the icon to display additional options:
      • Maximize/Minimize: Click to make the window the largest for the provider or make the window smaller again. 
      • Fullscreen: Click to make the provider window fill the entire screen.
  4. Participant Controls: Hover over the participant to see the controls:
    • Spotlight: Click to make the participant window the largest for everyone.
    • More options: Click the icon to display additional options:
      • Volume Slider: Adjust the participant's volume for the provider only.
      • Maximize: Click to make the participant's window the largest for the provider only. 
      • Fullscreen: Click to make the participant's window fill the entire screen for the provider only.
      • Turn mic off/on: Click to mute or unmute the participant for everyone.
      • Turn cam off/on: Click to disable or enable the participant's camera.
      • Ask to share screen: Click to prompt the participant to share their screen.
      • Remove: Click to remove this participant from the room.
Telehealth_Provider_NavigateRoom.png
  1. Cam: Click to turn the camera on or off. Or hover over icon to select a different camera.
  2. Mic: Click to turn the microphone on or off. Or hover over icon to select a different microphone.
  3. Share/Stop: Only available for laptop and desktop devices. Click to initiate a screen share and choose to share the contents of the entire screen, application window, or browser tab. Then, click to stop screen sharing when finished. 
    Note: The participant's video continues streaming while they share their screen and multiple participants can share their screen at the same time.
  4. Chat: Hover over the icon to enter and send a chat message to participants.
    Note: For HIPAA compliance, the chat feature is only intended for communication during the visit and will not be saved later.
    • To view and continue the chat conversation, click to expand the Chat panel.
Telehealth_Provider_NavigateRoomControl.png
  1. People: Click to expand the People panel for additional details and options:
    • Participant List: The list of all participants in the room with a Cam and Mic icons next to their name. The icons indicates whether the participant has their camera and microphone on or off. 
    • Breakout Group: Click the icon to create a breakout session.
    • More Options: Click the icon to display additional options:
      • Turn all mics off: Click to disable all participants microphones.
      • Turn all cams off: Click to disable all participants cameras.
      • Remove all: Click to remove all participants from the room.
  2. Leave: Hover over the icon to select End meeting for all or Leave room. Select Leave room to allow the visit to continue without the host provider.
Telehealth_Provider_NavigatePeoplePanel.png

Layout Examples

  • Example of a visit room with the default grid layout.
Telehealth_Provider_DefaultLayout.png
  • Example layout of a maximized screenshare (or participant) window and participant pop out.
Telehealth_Provider_ScreenshareLayout.png
  • Was this article helpful?