Skip to main content


Kareo Help Center

Promoting Interoperability

Updated: 05/11/2022
Views: 15402

Clinicians are required to use a 2015 Edition/Cures Act Update CEHRT and will be scored based on performance in the Promoting Interoperability (PI) Objectives and one mandatory objective (Protect Patient Health Information). Measures in this category must be reported for a minimum of 90 days and up to a full year. 

2022 Promoting Interoperability Objectives and Measures

Objective *Measures Maximum Points
e-Prescribing (eRX) e-Prescribing 10 points
Bonus: Query of PDMP 10 points
Health Information Exchange (HIE) Support Electronic Referral Loops by Sending Health Information 20 points
Support Electronic Referral Loops by Receiving & Reconciling Health Information 20 points
Provider to Patient Exchange Provide Patients Electronic Access to their Health Information 40 points
Public Health and Clinical Data Exchange Report to both registries:
  • Immunization Registry Reporting
  • Electronic Case Reporting
10 points
Bonus: Syndromic Surveillance Reporting 5 points
Protect Patient Health Information **A Security Risk Assessment is mandatory, but will not be scored. However, failure to complete will rate the entire Promoting Interoperability performance category as a zero (0). Mandatory
*A High Priority Practice SAFER Assessment is mandatory, but will not be scored.  A response of Yes or No is required. Mandatory

The score is capped at 100 points, at which point a clinician achieves full credit for the PI category (25%).  There are no thresholds to meet, instead eligible clinicians earn points based on their performance in the following measures:

*Exclusions are available for multiple measures. Review each guide to determine if an exclusion applies to the eligible clinician. Or, from the Medicare Promoting Interoperability dashboard, click the Claim Exclusions button and review each available exclusion.  Select the exclusions the clinician is eligible for.

**Clinicians are required to complete a Security Risk Assessment and will have to answer a “Yes” or “No” during their MIPS attestation.  A “Yes” is required to meet the Promoting Interoperability performance category. 

In addition to submitting measures during the MIPS attestation, clinicians must:

  • Submit a “yes” to the Prevention of Information Blocking Attestation,
  • Submit a “yes” to the ONC Direct Review Attestation;
  • Submit a “yes” for the security risk analysis measure; and
  • Submit a “yes” or “no” for the High Priority Practice SAFER Assessment

Learn more about the MIPS Promoting Interoperability Dashboard.