A Kareo PM application administrator can deactivate a provider so that the provider is no longer included in any of the enterprise wide reports and no longer appears in the list of providers when a user logs into the system. All of the data previously entered for a provider remains intact and can be accessed at a later time by reactivating the provider. Note that once a provider is added to your Kareo account, they cannot be deleted from the system.
If you want to deactivate a provider, please make note of the following:
- You must have at least one active provider within a practice for it to remain active. If this is the last provider in the practice, then the practice will also be deactivated.
- By deactivating this provider, you will not be able to enter any new encounters or submit new claims. If the practice is on the Plus or Complete subscription level, the provider’s appointments will no longer appear on the appointment calendars and you will not be able to run reports on the deactivated provider.
- You will not be refunded a pro-rated subscription fee for a partial month.
Note: Kareo PM is a permission-driven application. Your permission level is determined by your Kareo PM application administrator. If you don't have access to a specific task or function described within these help topics, please contact the person in your office who is the Kareo PM application administrator.
To deactivate a provider
- Click Settings >Providers.
- Once you find the provider you want to deactivate, double-click to open it. The Edit Provider window opens.
- Click Deactivate Provider at the bottom of the window.
- Follow the prompts to deactivate the provider.