Skip to main content

 

Kareo Help Center

Authorizations

Updated: 01/15/2020
Views: 3347

The Authorizations tab of a patient's case is used to add authorization information from the insurance company that documents approval for medical services rendered to the patient.

You will always begin with navigating to Cases before adding, editing or removing an authorization related to a patient's case.

Add Authorization

  1. Navigate to Cases then double click the case to open (or add a new case). The Edit Case (or New Case) window opens.
  2. Click the Authorizations tab.
  3. Click Add. The New Authorization window opens.
Desktop_EditCase_AddAuthorization.png
  1. Enter the authorization information:
    1. Select the Policy from the drop-down menu.
    2. Auth #: The authorization number provided by the insurance company for reference.
    3. # of Visits: The total number of visits authorized by the insurance company. If the visits are unlimited, enter a high amount. 
    4. If applicable, the Effective Start and Effective End dates for the authorization period.
    5. The Full Name and Phone number of the Authorization Contact.
    6. Notes (Optional): Notes related to the authorization.
  2. Click Save at the bottom of each window until it is no longer available.
Desktop_NewAuthorization_Save.png

Edit Authorization

  1. Navigate to Cases then double click the case to open. The Edit Case window opens.
  2. Click the Authorizations tab.
  3. Double click the authorization to open. The Edit Authorization window opens.
  4. Make the desired changes.
  5. Click Save at the bottom of each window until it is no longer available.
Desktop_EditAuthorization_Save.png

Remove Authorization

  1. Navigate to Cases then double click the case to open. The Edit Case window opens.
  2. Click the Authorizations tab.
  3. Click once to select the authorization > Remove. A Confirmation pop-up appears.
  4. Click Yes to continue with the removal. The authorization is removed from the list. 
  5. Click Save at the bottom of each window until it is no longer available.
Desktop_EditCase_RemoveAuthorization.png